My rights as a patient

I am enquiring

My rights as a patient

1. There has been a misuse

According to Article 458 of the Criminal Code, the consultation of a document without authorization is liable to prosecution.

If you notice any unauthorized access to your health records, you can directly contact the doctor concerned and understand the reason for his access. If necessary, you can initiate legal proceedings.

If contacting the doctor seems difficult for you, speak directly to the hospital mediator where the doctor performs.

If it is a GP, contact the federal mediator.

 

2. My rights as a patient

NE PAS SUPPRIMER
1. You have the right to withdraw consent

At any moment you may withdraw your consent in the same way you gave it or by using this pdf form.

Only withdraw your consent if you no longer agree to securely and digitally file share your medical documents.  In the case of withdrawal, all services related to consent would be deactivated. If you withdraw your consent, neither you nor any doctor will have access to documents shared via the health networks. Please note that your GP can still receive your medical documents by other existing communication channels (mail, e-mail box, etc.)

You receive no official document when you unsubscribe.

2. You have the right to exclude a health care provider

For personal reasons you may decide to never give access to a specific care provider, even in an emergency. The ban will remain valid as long as you do not re-establish this right.

To do this, go to

  • “My Account”,
  • “access authorization”,
  • select “add an exclusion link”
  • and enter the name of the doctor that you want to exclude from your entire shared health records.

Doctors excluded do not see any shared documents concerning you.

3. You have the right to modify the therapeutic relationship

The doctors you consult create a therapeutic relationship with you via their software.

However, you can add them yourself by clicking on the button “Add access authorization.”

If you want to terminate an existing therapeutic relationship before the end of its expiry date, click the red cross next to the name of the doctor in question.

From the moment you remove a therapeutic relationship, the health professional has no access to your data through the health networks

4. You have the right to check who accessed your data

All access to your data is monitored.  Only physicians with a valid therapeutic relationship with you have access to your medical data. It is possible that you do not personally know these people: this is particularly the case when you are taken care of in hospital by a team.

In “access history” you can see which doctor has accessed your entire shared health record and when. If you want to see precisely what document was viewed, select the document and click on the link “Show monitoring”.

5. You have the right to hide specific information

The deletion of a medical document in your shared health folder is also known as dereferencing or deleting the referencing of this health document. The Brussels Health Network gives you the option of making a particular document or report inaccessible. You should obviously avail yourself of it with caution, however, especially if the content of the information has consequences for your care.

To remove the referencing of a document, click on the red cross to the right of the document you want to dereference.

The document is no longer accessible by physicians who view your shared health records. This document still exists on the server of the institution that produced the document but cannot be searchable through health networks. If specified in the procedure, your GP can still receive the paper document by another communication channel.

6. You have the right to designate a person of trust

When the patient experiences a loss of autonomy and has difficulty managing his or her medical file, a person or persons of trust may be nominated. This will help in managing the shared health folder but only the patient themselves can take decisions affecting him of her.

To do this, the patient and trustworthy person must have registered their consent.

Share This